Working committee nominated seven finalists
News by Alexander Koop | 07.10.2010 | 11:09

On 6th of October 2010, a working committee, comprising members from all domains of society in Germany, nominated the seven finalists for the Reinhard Mohn Prize 2011.

From 5th to 6th of October 2010, the working committee of the Reinhard Mohn Prize came together in Berlin in order to nominate the most prize-worthy projects of the shortlist. The members of the working committee had not only received the portraits, but also detailed background information on the projects to be discussed.

After the evaluation of the projects, the committee nominated seven finalists:

  • British Columbia Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform,
  • Co-Governance in Belo Horizonte,
  • Geraldton 2029 and beyond,
  • Hampton - VA deliberative governance,
  • La Plata Multi-Channel Participatory Budgeting,
  • Portsmouth Listens and
  • Recife Participatory Budget.

Stefan Gehrke, Executive Director pol-di.net. e.V. / politik-digital.de and member of the working committee, told the Reinhard Mohn Prize team: “I was very impressed by the variety of interesting projects from all over the world that had been submitted to the website of the Reinhard Mohn Prize. When I saw the projects on the shortlist, it was immediately clear to me that the nomination of the finalists would be a challenging task. However, after two days of intense discussions, we all agreed on the selection of the finalists. Many of them can be a model for Germany.”

Members of the working committee who nominated the seven projects were:

  • Prof. Oscar W. Gabriel, Institute for Social Sciences, Department of Political Systems and Political Sociology, University of Stuttgart
  • Stefan Gehrke, Executive Director, pol-di.net. e.V. / politik-digital.de, Berlin
  • Dr. Thomas Krüger, President of the Federal Center for Political Education, Bonn
  • Prof. Herbert Kubicek, Institute for Information Management Bremen GmbH
  • Christoph Meineke, Mayor of the Municipality of Wennigsen
  • Prof. Wolfgang Merkel, Research Unit Democracy: Structures, Performance, Challenges, Social Science Research Center Berlin gGmbH (WZB)
  • Angelika Nieder, Participant in the 2009 Citizens' Forum on Europe
  • Cornelia Rogall-Grothe, State Secretary and Federal Commissioner for Information Technology, German Interior Ministry, Berlin
  • Prof. Roland Roth, Department of Social Affairs and Health, University of Magdeburg-Stendal
  • Jan Christian Schinke, Participant in the 2008 Citizen's Forum on the Social Market Economy
  • Hanns-Jörg Sippel, Executive Director, Stiftung MITARBEIT, Beratung und Weiterbildung, Bonn
  • Prof. Rita Süssmuth, Former President of the German Bundestag, Berlin

Before the next Citizens' Forum – including 10.000 randomly selected German citizens – will choose the prize winner in spring 2011, the Reinhard Mohn Prize team will visit all the finalists in order to gather any missing information. A film team will produce portraits for each of the finalists.

The discussions that took place within the working committee will be made transparent in the final publication of the Reinhard Mohn Prize 2011.